Best thing since sliced bread?

MUG CAKES!!!

And I swear, I’m not even joking. For those who don’t know me I bake. I bake when I’m bored. I bake when I need a break or distance from some situation. I bake because I am watching some show and they decide to melt chocolate for something. I simply cannot resist seeing chocolate melting. I bake because I like and the flatmates don’t mind. I guess I’ll never be skinny, ah!

Anyway, I found this recipe on Tumblr and decided to share as it is DELICIOUS!

So, for a flourless Chocolate mug cake you will need:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1 tbsp heavy cream
  • 1/2 tbsp dutch processed cocoa powder
  • 1 large egg

1. In a large microwave safe mug (at least 12 oz), add chocolate chips and heavy cream. Heat for about 40 seconds in the microwave and then whisk until chocolate is completely melted and smooth. Add in remaining ingredients and whisk vigorously so that you do break down the egg. Whisk until batter is smooth and no egg streaks remain.

2. Microwave cake for about 1 minute. Cake will rise extremely high while in the microwave, probably passing the top of the mug, and will the sink back down once the cooking has stopped. Cake should be solid and completely cooked but slightly wet around the edges.  Let cake rest for about 20 minutes so that the flavors fully develop. You can remove cake and place into a smaller cup or bowl as cake will continue to shrink and condense as it cools. Top with powdered sugar and fresh fruit before serving.

Now, to be completely honest this recipe and more (along with the picture) can be found at this yummy Website

So head over there and start baking!

Happy cooking,

Claudia x

Leave a Reply

