Poland

Wroclaw, Poland

Wroclaw, Poland

I will be travelling to Poland tomorrow. I have actually lived there before moving to the UK. Well, I was there in Erasmus, studying, but, to be honest, I didn’t do so much studying as I travelled the country (still, it was enough to finish with great grades – If you’re thinking about exchange programs such as Da vinci or Erasmus, it’s a brilliant country to consider. Giving it’s economy it’s incredibly cheap. It’s richness lies in other things: culture, people and life itself in the country).

Four years later, I’ll be back again, in the city i’ve called home for half a year – my lovely Wroclaw – and Krakow. I’ll be visiting friends and introducing Poland to one of my dearest friends who, I’m sure, will finally understand why I call that half-a-year the time of my life!

For those of you who don’t know, Poland is located in Central Europe. It has been invaded or has fought for freedom in insurrections 43 times from 1600 to 1945.

It’s the birth home of Copernicus, Marie Curie and Chopin – to name a few. It’s the only country in the world where English teachers make more money than doctors.

As you can imagine, it is a country that it’s still rising from the consequences of the WWII. You can actually see the ‘gohst towns’ and damaged buildings as you take the train from Wroclaw and Krakow or Warsaw.

On a happier note; they have an open air festival called Przystanek Woodstock and it’s the biggest in Europe –  it is free and rock music is what you’ll find there. So, rock lovers try and go there. The festival is inspired by and named for the Woodstock Festival (you can only start to imagine what it is like in there – unless you went to Woodstock, then you’ll know).

Poland is one of the biggest producers of Vodka. And they make it at home too – believe me, I’ve tried all sorts at Uni dorms!!!

I will document my trip once I come back. For now I’m just to excited and still very undecise of what to take with me.

Claudia

Leave a Reply

